Getting Published

Getting Published

After spending years spinning my wheels, I finally pressed the button. I guess I’m a bit like my mother. Mom was a great storyteller and loved to read. She would tap away at her computer, creating a scene or two but never made the leap to getting published.

That was me up to this week. Every Sunday for years I would join my writers’ group and sit in front of my laptop writing. It was one of these Sundays after eating a plate of fries that I knew something had to change. I needed to start smaller and wondered what I could do. Short story? Poetry? Children’s book?

That was it, a children’s book. If I wanted to get published, I needed a smaller project. So I did some research and borrowed a few children’s books from the library. It looked easy.

But I needed a story and characters. All it took was to look down at my feet and it hit me like a lightning bolt. Pink sneakers! Yes, that is it and the rest fell into place.

My inspiration

My inspiration

It only took a couple of weeks to write and edit but then I hit a brick wall. What next? Do I send out query letters and try the traditional route? Or self-publish? I decided on self-publishing and thought that would be the quickest and easiest way to get my name up on Amazon.

However it didn’t turn out so easy and now I know why writers drink. Formatting my illustrated book to Kindle’s specifications was tedious. Correcting silly mistakes were painful. Dealing with CreateSpace frustrating. But it was definitely worth it. My ebook is on Amazon and the print on demand is coming out soon. So what if ‘Pink Sneakers in Space’ is ranked 107,000. I’m a published author. Now onto the marketing and book 2.amazon_logo_500500._V323939215_http://www.lizettestrait.com/

 

Leave a Reply

