L is for Looky Lou

L

We are all guilty of being one, a gawker, a rubbernecker, a Looky Lou. Don’t say you’re not. Think about the last time an ambulance drove past your house with the sirens blasting. I bet you looked out the window. Come on, be honest. I know I did.

Personally I like the last expression. For some reason, I chuckle every time I think about it. I’ve never heard of the term Looky Lou until a couple of weeks ago when I was at a write-in trying to catch up on my word count for Camp NaNoWriMo.

I was searching for a word or phrase to describe a person that would go and stare at a disaster, an accident or some other misfortune. My friend Rachael suggested Looky Lou. She used it in her cozy mystery. It’s now a top 10 favorite phrase for me to use.

But I’m not the only one that has Looky Lous on the mind. Iris, my protagonist in my story, Bewitched, is having problems with them. They have been gawking and tramping through her garden after what happened at her house last night.

And Iris was thankful for the last Looky Lou stopping by. She was getting uncomfortable with the way the Police Chief was staring at her. And if she was truthful to herself, she was staring right back. Thank God for Looky Lous.

rubbernecker2

Source of cartoon: http://www.soc.hawaii.edu/leonj/409as99/marrs/cartoon5.html

3 thoughts on “L is for Looky Lou

  1. I’ve never heard the term used in that fashion, have really only heard it once before and it was a nickname someone used on an online forum. Her actual name was Louella, and I don’t know how or why she used Lurky Lou, but the description certainly makes since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

